IMPORTANT NOTICE: THE LIBRARY REMAINS CLOSED TO THE PUBLIC UNTIL FURTHER NOTICE. HOWEVER, BOOK DROPS AND CURBSIDE DELIVERY ARE AVAILABLE. For details and other Library updates, please visit https://www.longmontcolorado.gov/departments/departments-e-m/library. To stay up-to-date on the latest City of Longmont information, please visit https://www.longmontcolorado.gov/news&a

The snake charmer: a life and death in pursuit of knowledge
(Book)

Book Cover
Average Rating
Published:
New York : Hyperion, c2008.
Format:
Book
Physical Desc:
260 pages, [8] pages of plates : ill., maps (on lining papers) ; 24 cm.
Status:
Longmont Adult Nonfiction
597.9 JAM
Copies
Location
Call Number
Status
Last Check-In
Longmont Adult Nonfiction
597.9 JAM
On Shelf
Nov 19, 2019
Description
Although it was still too dark to see well, Joe absentmindedly thrust his right hand into the sack to extract the specimen and have a look. Immediately, he winced with pain and yanked out his hand. A tiny black-and-white banded snake, less than ten inches long, was dangling limply from his middle finger, its fangs still sunk into his flesh.

In the fall of 2001, deep in the jungle of Burma, a team of scientists is searching for rare snakes. They are led by Dr. Joe Slowinski, at forty already one of the most brilliant biologists of our time. It is the most ambitious scientific expedition ever mounted into this remote region, venturing into the foothills of the Himalayas. The bold undertaking is brought to a dramatic halt by the bite of the many-banded krait, the deadliest serpent in Asia. In the moment he pulled his hand from the specimen bag and saw the krait, Joe knew that his life was in grave and imminent peril. Thus began one of the most remarkable wilderness rescue attempts of modern times, as Joe's teammates kept him alive for thirty hours by mouth-to-mouth respiration, waiting for a rescue that never came.

A daredevil obsessed with venomous snakes since his youth, Slowinski was a modern-day adventurer who rose quickly to the top of his field, discovering many previously unidentified snake species in his brief yet exhilarating career. The Snake Charmer is at once brilliant biography and exotic travel literature, blended with an accessible introduction to the bizarre, fascinating-and sometimes controversial-world of snake science. The narrative transports the reader into primeval wilderness, from the Everglades to Peru to Burma, in search of rattlesnakes and boa constrictors, kraits and cobras.

Joe Slowinski's career was fast and exciting, his tragic final expedition a pulse-pounding struggle between man and nature. In The Snake Charmer, renowned journalist and author Jamie James captures the life and death of this charismatic, endlessly fascinating man. Exhaustively researched in interviews with Slowinski's colleagues and family, and the author's own trek into the wilds of Burma, this is narrative nonfiction in the tradition of Into the Wild and The Perfect Storm.

Also in This Series
More Like This
More Copies In Prospector
Loading Prospector Copies...
More Details
Language:
English
ISBN:
9781401302139
Citations
APA Citation (style guide)

James, J. (2008). The snake charmer: a life and death in pursuit of knowledge. New York: Hyperion.

Chicago / Turabian - Author Date Citation (style guide)

James, Jamie. 2008. The Snake Charmer: A Life and Death in Pursuit of Knowledge. New York: Hyperion.

Chicago / Turabian - Humanities Citation (style guide)

James, Jamie, The Snake Charmer: A Life and Death in Pursuit of Knowledge. New York: Hyperion, 2008.

MLA Citation (style guide)

James, Jamie. The Snake Charmer: A Life and Death in Pursuit of Knowledge. New York: Hyperion, 2008. Print.

Note! Citation formats are based on standards as of July 2010. Citations contain only title, author, edition, publisher, and year published. Citations should be used as a guideline and should be double checked for accuracy.
Staff View
Grouped Work ID:
b6be9bdb-b201-f930-f124-d852e7e30f9d
Go To GroupedWork

Record Information

Last Sierra Extract TimeJan 21, 2020 08:53:58 AM
Last File Modification TimeMay 01, 2020 04:18:28 AM
Last Grouped Work Modification TimeMay 01, 2020 03:59:38 AM

MARC Record

LEADER01163pam a22003014a 4500
001FLC2007048987
003DLC
00520071204134701.0
008071203s2008    nyuabf        000 0beng  
010 |a 2007048987
020 |a 9781401302139
035 |a 166372889
040 |a DLC|c DLC|d CoBoFLC
043 |a n-us---
05000|a QL31.J56|b J36 2008
08200|a 597.9092|a B|2 22
1001 |a James, Jamie.
24514|a The snake charmer :|b a life and death in pursuit of knowledge /|c Jamie James.
260 |a New York :|b Hyperion,|c c2008.
300 |a 260 p., [8] p. of plates :|b ill., maps (on lining papers) ;|c 24 cm.
60010|a Slowinski, Joseph.
650 0|a Herpetologists|z United States|v Biography.
907 |a .b17406067|b lg |c -
902 |a 200120
998 |b 2|c 080627|d g|e a |f -|i eng|g 4|h lg
907 |a .b17406067|b bm|c -
9989 |a b2008/06/27 b017 cv nb
945 |a 597.9 JAM|d 11-15-2019 10:21|e  - - |1 11-19-2019 18:08|g 1|h  |i 33060008331485|j 4|l lgnfa|n Horizon_Creation_Date_07-03-2008 Source_Ingram - Edifact Last_Horizon_CKO_date_11-08-2011 Horizon_CKOs_7|o -|p $24.95|q -|r -|s - |t 0|u 10|v 0|w 0|x 1|y .i3179483x|z 160330