IMPORTANT NOTICE: THE LIBRARY REMAINS CLOSED TO THE PUBLIC UNTIL FURTHER NOTICE. HOWEVER, BOOK DROPS AND CURBSIDE DELIVERY ARE AVAILABLE. For details and other Library updates, please visit https://www.longmontcolorado.gov/departments/departments-e-m/library. To stay up-to-date on the latest City of Longmont information, please visit https://www.longmontcolorado.gov/news&l

The snake charmer: a life and death in pursuit of knowledge

Book Cover
Average Rating
Publisher:
Hyperion,
Pub. Date:
c2008.
Language:
English
Description
Although it was still too dark to see well, Joe absentmindedly thrust his right hand into the sack to extract the specimen and have a look. Immediately, he winced with pain and yanked out his hand. A tiny black-and-white banded snake, less than ten inches long, was dangling limply from his middle finger, its fangs still sunk into his flesh.

In the fall of 2001, deep in the jungle of Burma, a team of scientists is searching for rare snakes. They are led by Dr. Joe Slowinski, at forty already one of the most brilliant biologists of our time. It is the most ambitious scientific expedition ever mounted into this remote region, venturing into the foothills of the Himalayas. The bold undertaking is brought to a dramatic halt by the bite of the many-banded krait, the deadliest serpent in Asia. In the moment he pulled his hand from the specimen bag and saw the krait, Joe knew that his life was in grave and imminent peril. Thus began one of the most remarkable wilderness rescue attempts of modern times, as Joe's teammates kept him alive for thirty hours by mouth-to-mouth respiration, waiting for a rescue that never came.

A daredevil obsessed with venomous snakes since his youth, Slowinski was a modern-day adventurer who rose quickly to the top of his field, discovering many previously unidentified snake species in his brief yet exhilarating career. The Snake Charmer is at once brilliant biography and exotic travel literature, blended with an accessible introduction to the bizarre, fascinating-and sometimes controversial-world of snake science. The narrative transports the reader into primeval wilderness, from the Everglades to Peru to Burma, in search of rattlesnakes and boa constrictors, kraits and cobras.

Joe Slowinski's career was fast and exciting, his tragic final expedition a pulse-pounding struggle between man and nature. In The Snake Charmer, renowned journalist and author Jamie James captures the life and death of this charismatic, endlessly fascinating man. Exhaustively researched in interviews with Slowinski's colleagues and family, and the author's own trek into the wilds of Burma, this is narrative nonfiction in the tradition of Into the Wild and The Perfect Storm.

Also in This Series
More Like This
More Copies In Prospector
Loading Prospector Copies...
More Details
ISBN:
9781401302139
9781982437237
Staff View

Grouping Information

Grouped Work IDb6be9bdb-b201-f930-f124-d852e7e30f9d
Grouping Titlesnake charmer a life and death in pursuit of knowledge
Grouping Authorjames jamie
Grouping Categorybook
Last Grouping Update2020-05-01 03:59:38AM
Last Indexed2020-05-28 04:54:08AM

Solr Details

accelerated_reader_point_value0
accelerated_reader_reading_level0
auth_author2Hughes, William, 1957-
authorJames, Jamie.
author2-roleHughes, William,1957-
hoopla digital.
author_displayJames, Jamie
available_at_longmontLongmont Public Library
detailed_location_longmontLongmont Adult Nonfiction
display_descriptionIn the narrative tradition of Into the Wild and The Perfect Storm, an acclaimed journalist tells the dramatic story of the life and death of modern adventurer Joe Slowinski, the young, charismatic world expert on poisonous snakes. Author Jamie James brings to life young Joe's childhood empathiy with snakes, his university career, and his final trek into the wilderness. On Slowinski's last major expedition deep into the wild, there were plenty of his two favorite things: snakes and alcohol. What was in short supply, or non-existent, were appropriate medications, an evacuation plan, a two-way radio, and common sense. On September 11th, 2001, Dr. Joe Slowinski was bitten by a krait, one of the most poisonous snakes in the world. His colleagues kept him alive for 26 hours with mouth-to-mouth respiration, waiting for medical help that would never come.
format_category_longmontBooks
format_longmontBook
idb6be9bdb-b201-f930-f124-d852e7e30f9d
isbn9781401302139
9781982437237
item_details
Bib IdItem IdShelf LocCall NumFormatFormat CategoryNum CopiesIs Order ItemIs eContenteContent SourceeContent FileeContent URLsubformatDetailed StatusLast CheckinLocationSub-location
ils:.b17406067.i3179483xLongmont Adult Nonfiction597.9 JAM1falsefalseOn ShelfNov 19, 2019lgnfa
hoopla:MWT10026088Online Hoopla CollectionOnline HooplaeAudiobookAudio Books1falsetrueHooplahttps://www.hoopladigital.com/title/10026088?utm_source=MARCAvailable Online
itype_longmonthardcover book
last_indexed2020-05-28T10:54:08.623Z
lexile_score-1
literary_formNon Fiction
literary_form_fullNon Fiction
local_callnumber_longmont597.9 JAM
owning_library_longmontLongmont Pulblic Library
owning_location_longmontLongmont Public Library
primary_isbn9781401302139
publishDate2008
record_details
Bib IdFormatFormat CategoryEditionLanguagePublisherPublication DatePhysical Description
ils:.b17406067BookBooksEnglishHyperion, c2008.260 p., [8] p. of plates : ill., maps (on lining papers) ; 24 cm.
hoopla:MWT10026088eAudiobookAudio BooksUnabridged.EnglishBlackstone Publishing, 2008.1 online resource (1 audio file (8hr., 18 min.)) : digital.
recordtypegrouped_work
scoping_details_longmont
Bib IdItem IdGrouped StatusStatusLocally OwnedAvailableHoldableBookableIn Library Use OnlyLibrary OwnedHoldable PTypesBookable PTypesLocal Url
ils:.b17406067.i3179483xOn ShelfOn Shelffalsetruetruefalsefalsetrue128, 1, 129, 2, 3, 131, 4, 132, 5, 133, 6, 7, 135, 8, 136, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 17, 18, 19, 20, 34, 35, 36, 37, 38, 39, 40, 41, 42, 43, 45, 46, 67, 68, 69, 70, 71, 72, 73, 74, 75, 76, 77, 80, 81, 82, 84, 85, 86, 92, 93, 95, 96, 97, 98, 99, 100, 105, 106, 108, 109, 110, 111, 112, 114, 115, 116, 117, 118, 119, 125, 126, 127
subject_facetHerpetologists -- United States -- Biography
Slowinski, Joseph
title_displayThe snake charmer : a life and death in pursuit of knowledge
title_fullThe snake charmer : a life and death in pursuit of knowledge / Jamie James
The snake charmer : a life and death in pursuit of knowledge [electronic resource] / Jamie James
title_shortThe snake charmer
title_suba life and death in pursuit of knowledge
topic_facetHerpetologists
Slowinski, Joseph