The grand slam: [Bobby Jones, America, and the story of golf]

Book Cover
Average Rating
Publisher:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Pub. Date:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Language:
English
Description

In the wake of the stock-market crash and the dawn of the Great Depression, a ray of light emerged from the world of sports. In the summer of 1930, Bobby Jones, a twenty-eight-year-old amateur golfer, mounted a campaign against the record books. In four months, this natural, self-taught player conquered the British Amateur Championship, the British Open, the US Open, and finally, the US Amateur Championship-an achievement so extraordinary that writers dubbed it the Grand Slam. No one has ever repeated it.

A natural, self-taught player, the intensely private Jones had longed to retreat from fame's glaring spotlight throughout his entire career. While the press referred to him as "a golfing machine," the strain of competition exacted a ferocious toll on his physical and emotional well-being. During the season of the Slam he constantly battled exhaustion, nearly lost his life twice, and came perilously close to a total collapse.

By the time he completed his unprecedented feat, Jones made the shocking announcement that he was retiring from the game. His abrupt disappearance from the public eye into a closely guarded private life helped create the mythological image of this hero from the Golden Age of sports that endures to this day.

Mark Frost uses a wealth of original research to provide an unprecedented, intimate portrait of golf great Bobby Jones. In the tradition of The Greatest Game Ever Played , The Grand Slam blends social history with sports biography, captivating the imagination and engaging the listener-it is a biography not to be missed.

Also in This Series
More Like This
More Copies In Prospector
Loading Prospector Copies...
More Details
Contributors:
ISBN:
9781401301088
9781483075334
9781982460983
Staff View

Grouping Information

Grouped Work ID96a84604-42b1-52f2-8905-853c516a3fde
Grouping Titlegrand slam bobby jones america and the story of golf
Grouping Authorfrost mark
Grouping Categorybook
Last Grouping Update2020-02-22 03:47:48AM
Last Indexed2020-02-21 20:04:37PM

Solr Details

accelerated_reader_point_value0
accelerated_reader_reading_level0
auth_author2Gardner, Grover.
authorFrost, Mark, 1953-
author2-roleGardner, Grover.|Narrator
hoopla digital.
author_displayFrost, Mark
available_at_longmontLongmont Public Library
detailed_location_longmontLongmont Adult Nonfiction
Online OverDrive Collection
display_description

In the wake of thestock-market crash and the dawn of the Great Depression, a ray of light emergedfrom the world of sports. In the summer of 1930, Bobby Jones, atwenty-eight-year-old amateur golfer, mounted a campaign against the recordbooks. In four months, this natural, self-taught player conquered the BritishAmateur Championship, the British Open, the US Open, and finally, the USAmateur Championship—an achievement so extraordinary that writers dubbed it theGrand Slam. No one has ever repeated it.

A natural, self-taughtplayer, the intensely private Jones had longed to retreat from fame's glaringspotlight throughout his entire career. While the press referred to him as"a golfing machine," the strain of competition exacted a ferocioustoll on his physical and emotional well-being. During the season of the Slam heconstantly battled exhaustion, nearly lost his life twice, and came perilouslyclose to a total collapse.

By the time he completedhis unprecedented feat, Jones made the shocking announcement that he wasretiring from the game. His abrupt disappearance from the public eye into aclosely guarded private life helped create the mythological image of this herofrom the Golden Age of sports that endures to this day.

Mark Frost uses a wealthof original research to provide an unprecedented, intimate portrait of golfgreat Bobby Jones. In the tradition of The Greatest Game EverPlayed, The Grand Slam blends social history with sportsbiography, captivating the imagination and engaging the listener—it is abiography not to be missed.

format_category_longmontAudio Books
Books
eBook
format_longmontBook
eAudiobook
id96a84604-42b1-52f2-8905-853c516a3fde
isbn9781401301088
9781483075334
9781982460983
item_details
Bib IdItem IdShelf LocCall NumFormatFormat CategoryNum CopiesIs Order ItemIs eContenteContent SourceeContent FileeContent URLsubformatDetailed StatusLast CheckinLocationSub-location
hoopla:MWT10027300Online Hoopla CollectionOnline HooplaeAudiobookAudio Books1falsetrueHooplahttps://www.hoopladigital.com/title/10027300?utm_source=MARCAvailable Online
ils:.b23771409.i30478091Longmont Adult Nonfiction796.352 Jones FRO1falsefalseOn ShelfSep 13, 2017lgnfa
overdrive:358452ee-18f5-401f-8322-507895869a52-1Online OverDrive CollectionOnline OverDriveeAudiobookAudio Books1falsetrueOverDriveOverDrive MP3 Audiobook, OverDrive ListenAvailable Online
itype_longmonthardcover book
last_indexed2020-02-22T03:04:37.788Z
lexile_score-1
literary_formNon Fiction
literary_form_fullNon Fiction
local_callnumber_longmont796.352 Jones FRO
owning_library_longmontLongmont Pulblic Library
owning_location_longmontLongmont Public Library
primary_isbn9781401301088
publishDate2004
2006
record_details
Bib IdFormatFormat CategoryEditionLanguagePublisherPublication DatePhysical Description
hoopla:MWT10027300eAudiobookAudio BooksUnabridged.EnglishBlackstone Publishing, 2006.1 online resource (1 audio file (19hr., 07 min.)) : digital.
ils:.b23771409BookBooks1st ed.EnglishHyperion, c2004.xv, 493 p. : ill. ; 24 cm.
overdrive:358452ee-18f5-401f-8322-507895869a52eAudiobookAudio BooksEnglishBlackstone Publishing2006
recordtypegrouped_work
scoping_details_longmont
Bib IdItem IdGrouped StatusStatusLocally OwnedAvailableHoldableBookableIn Library Use OnlyLibrary OwnedHoldable PTypesBookable PTypesLocal Url
ils:.b23771409.i30478091On ShelfOn Shelffalsetruetruefalsefalsetrue128, 1, 129, 2, 3, 131, 4, 132, 5, 133, 6, 7, 135, 8, 136, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 17, 18, 19, 20, 34, 35, 36, 37, 38, 39, 40, 41, 42, 43, 45, 46, 67, 68, 69, 70, 71, 72, 73, 74, 75, 76, 77, 80, 81, 82, 84, 85, 86, 92, 93, 95, 96, 97, 98, 99, 100, 105, 106, 108, 109, 110, 111, 112, 114, 115, 116, 117, 118, 119, 125, 126, 127
overdrive:358452ee-18f5-401f-8322-507895869a52-1Available OnlineAvailable Onlinefalsetruetruefalsefalsefalse
subject_facetGolfers -- Biography
Golfers -- United States -- Biography
Jones, Bobby, -- 1902-1971
title_displayThe grand slam : Bobby Jones, America, and the story of golf
title_fullThe Grand Slam Bobby Jones, America, and the Story of Golf
The grand slam : Bobby Jones, America, and the story of golf / Mark Frost
The grand slam : [Bobby Jones, America, and the story of golf] [electronic resource] / Mark Frost
title_shortThe grand slam
title_sub[Bobby Jones, America, and the story of golf]
topic_facetGolfers
Jones, Bobby
Nonfiction
Sports & Recreations